Wonderful Saturdays

Is it almost 2:00? P.m. that is. I am still in my pajamas and I did remain in my very comfortable bed until 1:00 this afternoon. These coveted days are few and far between in my world and it is very easy to remain horizontal well past when I feel normal human beings do. What’s normal anyway? Work is tiring and I don’t rest so easily because there is always something to do. I realized on my drive to Bowling Green on Thursday-to teach Kidneys in the classroom to 250 8th graders- that spending time to process and make sense of what has been taking place in my life the past couple of months has not happened. Or else I’ve not made it happen and I’m walking through the motions of my life forgetting what I value and hold true to my heart.

In reading the devotional (Sojourn distributes a weekly devotional [written by a creative,talented, gifted member of the body] on Sundays to everyone along with sermon notes for the day) from two weeks ago I was reminded that as much as I should worship God and be involved with my community I should take time to rest. Words to share:

‘Rest, like that prescribed in the Day of Atonement, is more than simply not working. The Psalmist tells us that our souls find rest in God alone. If we see rest as simply not working, and don’t set our minds on anything else, we’re awfully prone to think about work -what isn’t getting done, what will be waiting for us when we return, etc. We fail to remember that God has our work in His hands so it doesn’t have to be grasped so tightly in ours. As you rest this week, find a way to enjoy God and set your mind on Him -through enjoying creation, good friends, prayer, through any good gift that you can rejoice and thank Him for.

I still haven’t begun the quilt that I had intended to start a couple of months ago. Maybe I’ll be motivated enough to start cutting the fabric tomorrow after church and also go for a run. I’ve been desperately needing to regain the stress relieving habit of running for some time now. Hope for the best!

The fabric I’ve chosen for the most awesome hand stitched quilt ever.

Yes! Those are skull and crossbones alright.

About Beth

I'm a woman striving to follow Jesus. I live in Louisville, KY with my handsome Michael and I am very thankful for the life that I have.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wonderful Saturdays

  1. laura says:

    YAY! :) I’m so glad you got some much needed and much deserved rest! Hope to spot you at Sojourn Gathered tomorrow! :)

Leave a Reply

