Polly’s Clematis

Pronunciation:

\ˈkle-mə-təs; kli-ˈma-təs, –ˈmā-, –ˈmä-\
Function:
noun
Etymology:
New Latin, genus name, from Latin, from Greek klēmatis brushwood, clematis, from klēmat-, klēma twig, from klan to break — more at clast
Date:
1578
: any of a genus (Clematis) of vines or herbs of the buttercup family often having three leaflets on each leaf and usually white, red, pink, or purple flowers

I went to the Wagner’s pool this past Tuesday to catch some rays before heading to the beach and lo and behold I saw the most beautiful clematis that I have ever seen. Grandma Tomes has a saying of some sort about them – the first year they creep, the second year they crawl and the third year they sprawl. That’s a paraphrase but believe me, she can say it much better. What she means is that the first year you try growing one it usually ends up sparse and killing off, the second year it comes back and is better and by the third year it is magnificent. Grandma knows her plants. I would like to take hold of some of that wisdom. Take a look at the beauty below.



Pictured below: One relaxed dude (also catching some rays)



About Beth

I'm a woman striving to follow Jesus. I live in Louisville, KY with my handsome Michael and I am very thankful for the life that I have.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

