Home Sweet Home

We have returned home safe and sound.  Chicago was a blast and so was Christmas with the family.  It has been a whirlwind and I will post the photos soon.  We love you mam-maws, aunts, uncles, cousins, siblings and parents!
It is such a good feeling to return to the warmth of your own home.  I could not sleep in Chicago the two nights we were there but as soon as my head hit the pillow on our bed, I was zonked.  I have two more vacation days to soak in (minus Saturday and Sunday) and I am loving it!  As soon as I am able to remove myself from the couch and from under this cozy big green, I am headed to the mall to do some exchanging and then to Lauren’s New Year’s Eve par-tay.  My Mm is working right now and has to work some this evening but he will  accompany me to the par-tay for a bit.
Side Note-
If you love me and you love my husband . . .
Please Please Please do not purchase anything from WalMart to give to us.  We spent every last dime in gift cards there last Sunday night in the hopes of never returning.  We’ve never had a good experience there.  We waited for a supervisor for fifteen minutes (while still in line mind you) to approve and ‘override’ the gift card in the register because it was not working and who still did not come after I walked down the aisle directly to him and asked for help.  I knew what had to be done because this was the third time I had gone there and my gift cards wound not scan correctly.  So after 25 minutes of this process another supervisor arrived and did what was needed and we got to leave.  Michael made the comment that no one wanted to work and I agreed.  It just seems so sensible that everyone would just stand around and stare at one another right?
Please don’t believe that we are ungrateful but look at the larger issue.  How is WalMart boosting the local economy when it sells products at a cheaper price than anyone else which end up breaking after a use or two, is always understaffed and filthy because it isn’t kept up as it ought to be and when its employees do not care to work.  I think that it’s added to the problem of making the poor believe that they can afford the next gadget or high tech commodity because it’s cheap at WalMart when many remain over weight (because of cheap processed and packaged foods) and unable to afford their own utility bill (because of unwise spending on cheap goods).  What’s wrong with this picture and why is it so important to keep up with Jones’?
I am now leaving my soap box but please I ask, in the kindest of ways that you might reconsider purchasing something from WalMart to give to us so that we might avoid the horror that is when we must venture out to shop there.

Love
Beth

About Beth

I'm a woman striving to follow Jesus. I live in Louisville, KY with my handsome Michael and I am very thankful for the life that I have.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home Sweet Home

  1. laura says:

    I totally agree with your soap box rant!! :)

Leave a Reply

