Follow Up

Laura,  here’s the recipe I use for the calzone dough (I credit Betty Crocker).

Italian Style Pizza Dough
1 package regular or quick active dry yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons)
1/2 cup warm water
1 1/4-1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I half mine with whole wheat flour)
1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon sugar

Dissolve yeast in warm water and let sponge form (whisk the liquid and let sit to activate the yeast-bubbles will form on top)
Stir in half flour, the oil, salt and sugar.
Stir enough of the remaining flour to make dough easy to handle.
Place dough on lightly floured surface.
Knead about 10 minutes or until smooth and springy.
Place in bowl and cover with a towel or plastic wrap and let rise in fridge overnight. 
(gently push fist in dough to deflate after a couple of hours)

Roll out to your desired thickness (I used this recipe to help with sealing and bake times) and use your favorite pizza toppings.   Some recipes call for ricotta cheese but I feel like it leaves the dough too wet, after rolling out the dough I smear some olive oil on and add salt and pepper, layer my favorite toppings (me-sundried tomatoes/spinach/garlic Mm-pepperoni/grn pepper/anchovies :), top with shredded mozzarella cheese, seal (make sure to leave holes in the top so the heat can escape), bake and eat!  I usually make one giant calzone which is more than enough for two but if you are feeding the family simply double the dough recipe making sure to make one and then the another because you want to avoid having a  giant dough monster to roll out.

About Beth

I'm a woman striving to follow Jesus. I live in Louisville, KY with my handsome Michael and I am very thankful for the life that I have.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Follow Up

  1. Laura says:

    Just saw this-thanks so much!! :)

Leave a Reply

