Life Cycle of Our Backyard

The first photo is what our backyard looked like last Fall after we bought our house.  Michael and I were very sad about the state of it and weren’t certain how my visions of a large garden could possibly come true.  It was a mosquito paradise and between the two holly trees was a hole that we thought could be sinking into the ground but we didn’t know for sure until this spring that it actually was.  I’ll save those photos for the next post.  Much to our chagrin we had those trees cut down so that my garden could grow with some much-needed sunshine because as you can see, almost the entire yard was shaded.  I’ve spent a lot of time working on the garden and landscaping this spring and I’ve been rewarded.  Everyday Amos gets to go pick and eat the most ripened raspberries and sometimes a few tart ones because he can’t help himself to wait.  I germinated everything from seed except for the lettuces and am growing: Roma/ Beefsteak Tomatoes, Kentucky Pole Beans, Zucchini, Strawberries, Raspberries, Basil, Rosemary, Red Peppers, hot peppers and either Cantelope or Watermelon (I mixed up the seeds early on and only two plants survived so now we’ll wait and see).  Now that the hole has been repaired and I’ve actually had success with my first garden, we will expand the garden and I’ll try my hand at some Red Russian Kale (I tried it for the first time this year and it’s quickly become my favorite veggie) and possibly more berries.

About Beth

I'm a woman striving to follow Jesus. I live in Louisville, KY with my handsome Michael and I am very thankful for the life that I have.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

